THE HISTORY OF GREENWOOD C.M.E.
Greenwood C.M.E. Church is the second oldest Christian Methodist Episcopal Church in the city of Memphis. Organized in 1872, members worshipped in the Greenwood School building located on Heistan Avenue. The Rozelle family, who were members of the church, owned this property and donated the property to the church.

As Greenwood's membership increased, a larger buildng was needed which led to a new site on South Bellevue Boulevard. The foundation and first unit of the church began under the pastorate of Reverend J.A. Alacorn in 1920. Later, the John C. Clayton family donated the Greenwood parsonage property adjacent to the church.

The church continued to experience growth and on April 14, 1979, Greenwood rejoiced with the now-present edifice at 3111 Kimball Avenue.
The Vision
To develop more mature Christians for the work we have been called to do.  Also for the local leader of our church to take up the Lord's vision for his church and submit themselves to becoming the kind of leaders God expects us to be.  And when we do, then and only then will our church be better prepared to fulfill the vision of dreaming big, teaching and preaching Christ boldly, and developing more mature Christians.